Honoraria & Travel Awards

The American Society of Mammalogists seeks to promote high quality research by its student members and provides a number of awards, honoraria, and fellowships by which young scientists can establish and further develop their careers in mammalogy. For further information about ASM Grants & Travel Awards, the application submission process, and due dates see the ASM website.


The Anna M. Jackson, A. Brazier Howell, Elmer C. Birney, and Annie M. Alexander awards are designed to recognize outstanding research projects completed by the Society’s graduate student members and are among the Society’s highest student honors. Award recipients will present their research to the Society at the Plenary Session of the Annual Meeting. For more information on ASM Graduate Student Honoraria and the application process, please see the ASM website.


Undergraduate Student Honoraria awards provide support for up to two undergraduate students to attend the meetings where they will give either an oral or poster presentation. For more information on ASM Undergraduate Student Honoraria and the application process, please see the ASM website.


To acknowledge the importance of students and early career professionals, the ASM is pleased to offer Travel Awards to attend the 2020 Meeting in Boulder, Colorado! Awards are used to defray the cost of attending the annual meeting and are available to both students and early career (within 5 years after terminal degree) professionals. Early career travel awards are for oral presentations only. Travel awards for students can be given for either oral or poster presentations. The number of awards per year will vary depending on available funds. Recipients must be a member of the ASM and should be the first author and the presenting author on the paper or poster at the annual meeting. Procedures for requesting a travel award will be described in the abstract submission forms. The Honoraria and Travel Awards Committee will base the selection of recipients on the quality and content of the submitted abstracts. For more information about ASM Travel Awards and the application process, please see the ASM website.


The Caregiver Travel Award is intended to provide financial support for active ASM members whose responsibilities for care of dependents would limit their ability to attend and present at the 2020 Meeting in Boulder, Colorado! Receiving this award does not preclude current ASM members from applying to and receiving additional travel support from ASM. Funds from this award must be used to support dependent care rather than general conference attendance costs, like registration or travel, for the applicant. Examples of approved uses for these funds include expenses related to childcare or eldercare either at home or at the conference, hiring a temporary care giver, and travel/host costs associated with bringing your dependent, a care giver, or a helper to the conference. Applications will be evaluated based on need, past conference attendance, engagement in ASM, and submitted abstract. For more information about ASM Caregiver Travel Awards and the application process, please see the ASM website.